"scuffed piston" help (346xp)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treeninja49

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
heres the specs of the chainsaw. I bought it with these mods on craigslist and than I scuffed it by tuning it incorrectly. I am a noob.

-2010 346xp
- Non limited coil
- tabs trimmed
- non carb muffler

i brought it to a shop and they said the piston was scuffed. I cant afford to pay them to do it so I want to learn how to rebuild it and not let this happen again. Can anyone please maybe link a guide they recommend on how to do this or give me a starting point? im good enough to do it myself with a guide lol.

also after seeing the mods this chainsaw has do you reccomend a different fuel mix ratio? i do 50:1 and am wondering if that contributed. as well as how to tune a saws carb with mods like this.

thanks

Plenty of vids on YouTube that describe taking apart the 346 and how to tune a chainsaw. Just search it, and get all the tools you will need and follow along.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

yea i watched a video on how to do it i just need to get all the parts I need. which piston and cylinder do you reccomend? I have an amazon gift card i bet i can get everything i need on there

Attachments

• IMG_9985.jpg
    IMG_9985.jpg
    308.4 KB · Views: 95
  • IMG_3982.jpg
    IMG_3982.jpg
    256.6 KB · Views: 95
  • IMG_1323.jpg
    IMG_1323.jpg
    281 KB · Views: 88
also i need to get like parts washer and all that off amazon as well...i have tools to do everything though which is good. anyone feel like making me a wishlist lol ;)

The most likely causes that this happened is a too lean carb setting, an air leak, or straight gas (50:1 is not the cause).

Try to identify the reason before taking the saw apart. Make sure you fix what caused it.