Sharpening Chains

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimbojango

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I'm sure this has been beat in the ground but i can't find it. So i went to harbor frieght and bought the el cheapo chainsaw grinder on sale for my birthday. I've never sharpened a chain with one as a 66 year old friend of mine always did it and he managed to have a heart attack the day before thanksgiving and kill himself.

So: i run 26RSC and 36RSC Stihl brand chains. .325 and 3/8 .063 chain. What angle do i set this thing up at (.25, .30, .35) I've already run a couple "tests" on some junk chains i had and .30 seemed "ok" but it didnt' stay sharp very long maybe because i didn't take enough material or i don't know. Help me out here guys and yes i KNOW i should of bought a Stihl grinder but I'm a farmer and i wasn't given any ground or equipment so I'm happy to make $15,000 a year these first few years instead of $250,000 like all the big ones think they make.

Thanks for all the help! If you have a copy of an old thread toss me the link and i'll go read it!

My brother bought one of those. I just eyeballed the angle that closely matched the existing angle on the teeth. Had to hold a little side pressure on the grinder to get it to cut consistently but it did a pretty fair job sharpening a chain. Seemed to me that it cut as well as new chain on that particular little saw.

I bought the hand filing Granberg style sharpener that I like better but unless I run across a nice grinder used or have an unexpected influx of cash(yeah right!) I'll probably buy an el cheapo grinder to get things started on badly rocked or wired chains.

Hu

If I remember correctly, the sharpening info is on the box. I just spent 5 minutes trying to find the info on the stihl site. Evidently it's well hidden, not there, or I'm just not looking in the right place.