so, then what?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ed Roland

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
OK then. Im a climbing arborist in S.C. I bill my services @ $65 an hour. So thats $520 a day and I've been happy giving the wood away to anyone who would take it. Now im reconsidering my stance. If i purchase a csm and begin milling: to whom do i sell the rough lumber and at what price? Species specific? What sizes are best? I work 80% of the time on Pinus taida and liquidambar. These worth anything. Great forum by the way.

You would have to see what rough lumber goes for in your area. Then you have to determine if your going to kiln dry it or air dry it or sell it green. All has a bearing on value.

Not sure on the 2 species you mentioned (pine and sweetgum), but as a woodworker I am looking for Walnut, Cherry and some of the more exotics. I pay anything from .50cents a bdft up.

Having also used a CSM, I do know, you won't make money with it. Since I'm getting free wood and using my time, I can cut the wood with a CSM and be ahead. If I had to do it for money, no way. I'd be losing in the time it would take. You could buy one of the nice band mills, but then you have 30-75 grand invested and have to almost do that full time to make any money.

Not trying to discourage you in the business venture, but it may not make you any money. If you do it for fun, it's fulfilling though. It's great when you take that piece of wood you cut from a log and make a piece of furniture with it.

Tom

Well, i guess i can purchase the alaskan from northern with the rails for about $400 and make some nice 6x6 out of the pine and start splitting the hardwoods for sale as btu material. I already have an old, but nice running, 393 i keep for stump cuts. Im just looking to increase my bottom line.
thanx

wood marketing