So what's the best

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Timbercutter

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
All around saw? I log for a living and use a 460..We cut a lot of small timber and pine..I just couldn't stand anything smaller even if I was just trimming the rose bush:laugh:

Timbercutter said:
I just couldn't stand anything smaller even if I was just trimming the rose bush:laugh:

Then why do you ask? LOL. If you hang around here much, you will quickly find that the Dolmar PS5100S is the favorite of many. If I could only own one saw, it would be the 5100. Others that come to mind as good all-around saws; Husky - 372XP, 359, Stihl - 361, Shindaiwa 577 (if you can find one)...and I am sure the other manufacturers have some that are good. But, the common theme here is a saw that is in the 50-60cc range that isn't too heavy. The 372 XP is overkill, but it is light and has a helluva lot of good press. Dealer support is important if you can't turn wrenches and maintain it yourself. Otherwise, it is what YOU like, what feels good in YOUR hands and what fits YOUR budget. The Dolmar 5100S is BY FAR the best bang for your buck out there. It is heads above the competition across the board.

Welcome to the site!

Josh

I'll agree with that,around these parts stihl is big,but over the years we have went back and forthwith stihl and huskey,I liked the 281 huskey a bit heavy but loved the power..My employee's perfeer the stihl for less virabartions,like you said what ever feels right in your hands..

Great website yall have going here:D

The boys an hour West of you say if you can't carry a 660.... you just can't hang.

Welcome cutter.

Fred

We are going to have two shows next fall. I'll post them here.

Mr. said:
The boys an hour West of you say if you can't carry a 660.... you just can't hang.

Welcome cutter.

Fred