spark plug question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spydahead

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
How often do you change the plug just because? I have about 18+ tanks of gas thru my xpw,runs great,plug looks great,every thing is wondreful,should i leave the plug alone? or replace it?

Normally I will put a new plug in a saw I've just obtained. I've installed new ones on other saws just because. Granted I don't run my saws as much as some folks on here but I've been running saws for close to 40 years and I don't recall having a plug fail. Not saying it doesn't happen though.

My current fallin' saw is a Stihl 044 built in 1993. I am the second owner of the saw. Have had it since 2003. I've changed the plug twice. When I got it... It had the original factory plug in it.

Don't overthink or overengineer it mang... EZPZ...

Gary

Unless a plug is badly fouled or something is physically bent or broken, I keep them in service. I have replaced a couple "just because" but can't say I ever noticed an improvement just by doing so.

Most guys leave the spark plug alone. With electronic ignition and good fuel mix they last for years. If it makes you feel better to change it. Go ahead just be a little careful when tightening the plug. It is an aluminum cylinder that can strip if over tightened or not started correctly.

I change them if they quit or sometimes for troubleshooting purposes. If the plug is running ok I leave it alone. I go by the "If it ain't broke...." Plugs get blamed for a lot of things they're usually not guilty of. However, if there is no spark it's always the first thing to try.