Split tails/Throwout?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MuniciPAL

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
when do you guys generally throw out your split tails?
i burned a few strands in my split tail and figured i would ask what the general age limit is.

use is pretty much daily.

If you have to ask I would chuck it. They are relativly cheap and I would not climb on a questionable piece of equipment. If you are going to be burning out of trees, probably need to use a different type of tail, the newer technora split tails can take over 600-700 degrees.

i agree just get a new one. you may also think of switching to a descender when zipping down. I use a cheap figure 8.

thanks for the suggestions. im not a professional arborist and i dont perform work in trees but i can sure destroy a split tail. ill have to pick up a technora tail. thanks

just out of curiosity, if you arent climbing trees daily but you are using your split tail daily, what exactly are you doing with it?

MuniciPAL,

Just curious: If your use of the split-tail is almost daily, but you're not an arborist nor do you work in trees...well, you can see where my question is going.

Are you the most avid recreational tree climber ever, or are you applying these techniques to another occupation?

RedlineIt

just out of curiosity, if you arent climbing trees daily but you are using your split tail daily, what exactly are you doing with it?

:laugh:

MuniciPAL,

Just curious: If your use of the split-tail is almost daily, but you're not an arborist nor do you work in trees...well, you can see where my question is going.

Are you the most avid recreational tree climber ever, or are you applying these techniques to another occupation?

RedlineIt

:hmm3grin2orange: :hmm3grin2orange:

Hmm,

Looks like we have the same wavelength, cntrybo2.

RedlineIt

:ices_rofl: :ices_rofl: :ices_rofl: