Splitter leaking from back of cylinder

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goof008

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
The back is welded. It's a pretty old splitter and doesn't really look like many of the replacements one's I've seen. It's a 4" bore with the tie rod end on on side and just screw sticking thru a welded end on the other. The welded end is leaking. Can it just be welded from the outside and hold, or does it need to welded from the inside? I'm new to all this high pressure stuff.

i don't think it should be welding on the inside, since the inside needs to be a clear surface. a good welder could fix that for you...provided, of course, the oil is drained...

Trip, only the wedge end of the splitter is tie rod style. The back end that mounts to the I-beam is flat, so I assume it's welded. I haven't taken it off to check yet. The piston end seems fine. Am I harming anything by using it if it is leaking, besides the environment?

I do not think you are harming your cylinder.

if it IS leaking I would get it fixed, if their is a crack I would hate to see it break under pressure...

also, I would think normaly a certified welder would weld something like this as it is a pressure vessel of sorts..

personaly, if it was mine I would pressure wash the entire thing at the car wash with plenty of soap and make sure it is a weld thats leaking, and exactly where, i doubt it is a weld, but maybe a plug or a fitting that is leaking

if it IS leaking from a weld, and your cheep dont skimp on on the repairs. If you do it yourself, take the front end apart, slide the shaft and seal out, wash it out, grind out ALL of the crack clean everything and lay down a pretty bead with good penetration, make sure your start and stop areas are GOOD... then clean out again, check seals and reinstall.

just my 0.02 cents
-Leo-