Staying Safe.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TreeSlugger

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm glad to find such an informative place. Ive been working for a local company for about 2 years. And in that time ive done bucket truck work, alot of climbing, and all the rest of the goodies that go along with trimming and removal. 90% of our work is contracted through the hydro, which makes me more safety concious.
Now with that out of the way, i wanted to ask you folks, what steps do you all take to make sure that you stay safe up there. Because we have old equipment, using ropes with chainsaw nicks in them, one lanyard/buck strap per climber, no carabiners, 3 usable ropes for climbing (one 60ft, one 45ft with knots, the other 150ft), spurs that wont be repaired, cracked leather and the two sections that support it to your shin one off the rivet and digs into your leg. its sad, and I'm extremely frustrated. Im laid off now, seasonal work, I love it for alot of reasons. But when things are brought up at meetings i get looked at like Ive got 3 heads. And what makes it worse, is we also do alot of hydro work, old/new crap that works half the time.
What do you all figure with your experience? Am I over reacting?