Staying Safe.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
prefecto great post

coydog said:
I worked under an experienced foreman who freeclimbed to the top of firs etc to set his lifeline/rigging, he once told me if you have to always be tied in what kind of a climber are you anyway? he fell and broke his back a year later, he was tied in but it was a crappy tie in that tore out. I used to be a freeclimbing fool as a kid, climbing to the top of big trees was my hobby, but now I'm a professional and I climb in order to support my family. I have a safety protocol that I follow which includes: I don't climb on questionable equipment, I tie in twice when I fire up the saw, and I stay tied in at all times(to a tie in that I can inspect!), among others, these may have slowed me down as a newer climber, but I'll put my production skills against anybody now, If an employer doesn't like it, I'll walk, there's plenty of others who would be happy to have me. The protocol is muscle memory as much as anything now, so it doesn't slow me down, only achieved through practice. There's always someone who can get the job done faster, the bottom line is can you get the job done consistently, day after day, year after year, without getting hurt.
:heart: :heart: :heart: :clap: :clap: :clap: now that is quality

sorry johnd

JohN Dee said:
Thats a great post mate, its about you - not them. Like someone's signature says: Climb High, Climb Safe is a great line to go by. If you don't feel safe then don't do it simple as that, if you wanna feel safe then get all your good gear together and start learning - That is the best way to feel safe and re-assure yourself in the tree.

WLL you got that red dot because you yourself are mis-informed. Why was this thread bumped back up anyway? It's like 8-9 months old the creator would be past this point in his life by now anyway.