Stihl 024 Problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Courage

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to working on saws... So have patience with me. My dad has an old 024 that he got 7 years ago for $25 not running, but with some compression. My dad is pretty busy and I enjoy working on stuff, so I eventually got around to replacing the carburator diaphragm and adjusting the carburator. My dad said that the air filter looked pretty dirty so he told me to scrub it with a tooth brush. Working on small engines is also kinda new to my dad... Needless to say I scrubbed that filter down to the wire. After all of that, we got it running but it would die as soon as we actually went to cut with it. I recently pulled it out, and have realized that I think it is running to lean. When I start it, with the choke on it revs up about half way and just stays there. The throttle does nothing, but I can tell that it is hooked up. When I take it off of choke, it revs up all the way on its own and then dies like I hit the kill switch. The fuel line coming out of the tank leaks some right where it comes out of the tank. We know that it needed a new air filter and fuel line, but we were hoping to get it running good before we put any more money into it. But now I'm starting to wonder if it might be getting to much air through the custom "high flow" air filter and the leaky fuel line. We took it to a saw shop and they said that it had low compression, but it's comparable to some of our other saws that still run good. I would appreciate any and all help as I really don't want to just start replacing parts with my limited knowledge in hopes of picking the right one that's causing the problem. Thanks for all of your help!
Courage