Stihl 026 Compression

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stihl051master

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hello,
I picked up a used Stihl 026 today for a heckuva good price. The guy said he thought it needed a new cylinder and piston, because it appeared to have some very light scuff marks on the piston, which you could see after removing the muffler. Looking through I really didn't see anything out of the ordinary. I should point out I'm no chainsaw expert, but worked at a motorcycle/snowmobile shop and rebuilt a TON of 2 stroke engines. My question is what should the compression reading be? I tested it as soon as I got home, and it read 170lbs. That seems like an excellent reading to me, and since I don't see any horrific scoring leads me to believe the p/c are fine. The guy runs a small shop, and is super meticulus about his stuff, so I am thinking he just wanted the saw back to perfect. In my bag-o-parts that came with the saw (it was partially disassembled) he accidently gave me the wrong carb, so I couldn't fire it up. Do you guys think I should just rebuild the carb, put new fuel lines and an air filter on, put her back together and run it???

That's what I was thinking. We used to do the "thumb test" on the two strokes. Seems like as long as there was about 100 lbs it was good enough to run (although maybe not to its full potential. Should I be worried about the scuffing on the piston and replace it, or just keep a close eye on the saw and run it? Like I said I'm no chainsaw expert, but on any other 2- stroke I wouldn't worry...It's just that the saws run so much higher r's...

I can try if I have time tomorrow. I'm on crappy dial-up and accidently deleted my photo editing software so the pic will be bigxhuge.