Stihl 028 AV Wood Boss Carb trouble

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bottomcat

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Cliff notes: Dealer says it needs a new carb but can't get one. He rebuilt mine but it runs worse now than it did before. Mine has a Walbro carb and the only replacements I see online are Tillotson. Are they interchangeable?

Long version: I am a complet novice when it comes to saws. This saw belongs to my dad who bought it out of a pawn shop just after Katrina. I took the saw to the local Stihl dealer and told them I wanted the chain sharpened, the carb adjusted and to check out the choke/run/kill switch. (It seemed to me as if the switch was not working correctly but I don't remember the details of why. It was early summer when I last used it.) The saw was running and I had done some cutting with it early summer but it wouldn't idle properly. Sometimes it would idle but more often than not if you engaged the chain brake and took your finger off the trigger it would die.