Stihl 23 Chainsaw won't Start

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GrumpyPants

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to Arborist. Been wrestling with this Stihl 023 chainsaw for way too long -- helping out a friend -- it belonged to her late husband. Below is a list of what I did. At this point, I suspect the issue is with the ignition coil, or perhaps worth trying Stihl oil, or fuel mix (instead of the cheapo oil I bought at Walmart which works fine with my Echo equipment). Appreciate any suggestions on how to narrow this down further.

0 - Stihl 023 Chainsaw would not Start (hasn't been used in ~20 years). Difficult to pull flywheel/cord. Removed spark plug, gave it a few pulls. Adjusted Spark plug gap and reinstalled. Would now Start but would not Run.
1 - Changed spark plug -- start but would not run. Would flood. Gas dripping out near the muffler area.
2 - Cleaned carb -- bath in Simple Green. Added more gas to the mix as I saw there was a lot of oil residue on the spark plug. Got it to Start and then Run with full throttle but unit would not idle and would eventually die.
3 - Repeated 2, tried adjusting carburetor and eventually reset to 1 full turn counter-clockwise on Low speed adjustment, same result as 2. Initially, the Low Speed was set closer to 2 turns.
4 - Checked spark arrester, it's clean
5 - Checked piston (visual inspection from exhaust side). Looks real smooth, compression also "seemed" good when pulling the cord.
6 - Changed fuel (perhaps this is more finicky than my Echo equipment). Bought new gas added 50:1 oil mix (back to ratio prior to change in 2 where I had more oil mix). Start, Run but no Idle.
7 - Changed fuel line (noticed it was damaged -- I believe I did this when doing 2). After changing fuel line, would no longer Start or Run.