Stihl MS 290 stalls and won't restart

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iiYolunda

Reaction score
Hey everyone, my first post here, so I have a MS 290 that stalls after around 5 minutes of running and no matter what will not restart until it cools down again.

So some info about the saw, I've been rebuilding it for a friends friend who brought it to someone (a dealer I guess) and was told to it wasn't worth fixing so he brought it to me to look at since I have some knowledge about small engines and a Youtube degree lol. Well anyway, had low compression so I peaked in the exhaust and piston was scored. Being the nice friend I am, lol, I told him I can rebuild it for him and he'll just have to pay for parts to make the saw like new again...

Disassembling was easy minus those rubber grommets for the Anti-vibration that holds the top plastic cover in place, so got the parts in the mail and got to work. So to make things easy I've bought the top end assembled already with the crankcase, used some high temp silicone sealant for the halves and put everything back together. Alongside with the whole engine, I've also replaced some parts that I'd think would wear down after time : Ignition Coil, Carburetor (to lazy to rebuild), Fuel filter, Air filter, Sparkplug, 20'' Bar and Chain. I've inspected all the hoses including, impulse line, fuel line, and I guess the intake boot and they all were in good shape with no cracks.