Stihl MS250 or Husq 346xp

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Which saw is better? Stihl MS250 or Husqvarna 346xp

• Stihl MS250

• Husqvarna 346xp

Results are only viewable after voting.

spoons

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey All, new guy here and had a few questions.

I'm just a casual homeowner that needs to cut down a few small trees in my back yard. I'm not a mechanic but I am mechanically inclined and fix all my own cars and boats.

Last week I picked up a couple chainsaws from a guy. He sold me a working Stihl MS250 and a non working Husq 353 (or so he thought, but he basically threw in the Husq for free). The sticker on the side was worn away. Anyway, the Stihl has original bar and chain and is sharp and runs great. Compression is so good I pulled a ligament or muscle in my right arm. The Husq doesn't have the original bar but has a sharp chain. Both bars are 18".

I finally got time to start pulling apart the Husq and to my surprise the serial number plate shows that it's a 346xp saw. I ordered a cheap kit off eBay that also came yesterday but they sent a completely wrong kit. So it's going back. My original intentions were to rebuild the Husq and sell it or the Stihl and keep one basically getting 1 of the saws for free. Now that i've discovered it's a 346xp, I'm more inclined to order a Mahle P&C kit and return it all back to factory.

Question is: which saw is the better saw? And guys, I only need one saw. :) Thanks in advance and I love this site!

Hey All, new guy here and had a few questions.

I'm just a casual homeowner that needs to cut down a few small trees in my back yard. I'm not a mechanic but I am mechanically inclined and fix all my own cars and boats.