The mingo firewood marker

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

saginaw22

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Well I am wondering if anyone uses the Mingo firewood marker.

themingomarker.com/

Well I am a home owner and I have been cutting wood for 3-4 years
for home heating. I cut around 15-20 face cords of hardwood a year for buring.

I have up graded my saw from a jonny 630 to a husky 575 and having a 20" bar makes it harder to keep the length of the wood more consistant 16"-18" Max

Well I bought this marker because we had our 40 logged and now have a ton of firewood tops and stacked bolts of firewood to cut.

I am hoping this is an easy 30 bucks instead of messing around with the bar tring to judge the 16-18" in mark....this just makes a dot every 16" nice and uniform

The reason I am doing this it is a pain in the ash to load up the stove with anything longer than 19" and I just have to wait to burn the longer stuff when the stove is empty and put it in there on an angle

So I am going to try this product for the price of 5 gallons of gas and oil for mix I figure this is a pretty cheep investment and no hassling with the bar or a stupid tape.

Discuss thanks
Saginaw_22

Last edited by a moderator:
We use the Mingo all the time when firewooding. We have 3 different wheels for it (for marking different lengths). We cut firewood in 16", 20" and 24" for different users. It makes it quick to roll the Mingo down each log then come back cutting. Everything is the same length and stacks neatly, looking more professional. The only drawbacks are if you lose the cap on the marker-type spray paint.

+1 for the Mingo. I received one as a gift and thought it was quite silly-- until I used it. It makes the job of getting uniform 16" pieces of firewood quick and easy. (Or whatever wheel size you buy. 16" comes with it.)