Thinning 12ac of white pines, advice needed

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

verticaltrx

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
On one of our farms we have about 12ac of white pines that were planted some years ago. They are around 8-10" DBH, planted on 8' rows with about 5-6' spacing in the rows. The land is sloping but mostly accessible with equipment. My plan is to take out every other row and the trees in the row to get about 14' spacing between all trees. Based on some quick math that seems about right to me, but I'm no professional.

I think we have most of the equipment to tackle this:
-tractors up to 95hp with 4wd/loader
-large skid steer loader
-two 2-ton dump trucks (one is a flatbed)
-9" capacity hydraulic feed chipper
-small saw mill
-all manner of saws, chains/cables/rigging

We might also get a grapple for the skid steer and a 3pt hitch logging winch for one of the larger 4wd tractors.

I think the best plan of action is to cut the trees as described above, skid or haul them out, saw whats worth sawing on the saw mill, and send the rest through the chipper. We can use the lumber and chips around the farm, and try to sell any excess lumber. I don't think there is any commercial value in this project for pulp or saw logs so I think we'll be doing it ourselves and getting what we can from it. Any advice from those with experience in this field would be much appreciated.