Timberwolf vs ????

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BWS-LLC

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I've been using a Speeco 22ton splitter for several years now and it has done me very well. But I'm getting into more and more firewood and selling and I foresee in the next year that this humble little guy won't be able to keep up with my demand.

I'm looking for something with a log lift, and a 4 way wedge. I like the option on the TW splitters that can raise and lower the wedge. I'm also looking for something with a faster cycle time of course.

What other options are out there besides TW?

Granted, my 22 ton splitter so far has been able to split almost everything I've been able to throw at it so far, but I'm guessing that once I put a 4 way wedge on it that that's when I'm going to find my current splitter lacking.

I was looking at the Timberwolf splitters when I found the Rayco LS2526. I love it and it was $2,000.00 less than the comparable TW.

Attachments

• LS2526.jpg
    LS2526.jpg
    6.1 KB · Views: 158
Most of the time with wood splitters you are buying without the option of trying one. If you want to stop by and run a TW-6 or a SSHD I'm open to that. The TW seems bullet proof and that is a huge selling point, but I think there are better wedge designs out there. If you decide on a TW shop more than one dealer. I think I may have paid too much for mine compared to what others on this site have said they paid. Doesn't sound like the SSHD is what you want but it will put a grin on your face. To answer your question about wood splitter options check out Split Fire. Eding Tractor in Hamilton sells them but does not stock them. A friend bought a three point model and loved it. I saw it but not on the tractor or operating, but it was nicely designed and built. He has since sold the tractor and attachments and moved south.
IMG_1529 (1).jpg IMG_1523.jpg