Time to venture into milling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This thread may likely start a new addiction for me, lol. I've got a beautiful 11' long 18-20" diamter Walnut log here that I want to mill into shelf boards. There's also a nice, larger diameter hard Maple log I can get my hands on.

Basically I'm looking for advise on what to buy. The power head will be a 084. I currently have 36", 50", and 72" bars in that mount. I'll buy another if need be. So what size mill should I buy? I've been looking at the Alaskan 36" mill, but considered getting one larger. I just don't want to buy too large or too small of a mill. What would you advise?

Is there anything else I'll need to purchase besides milling chain?

Yes, I'm a complete newbie in this department. And yes, you're welcome to tell me to go use the search function, lol:clap:

Brad, I'm glad you are getting into milling. :clap:

Bear in mind that the clamps and nose take up 4" - 6" of space on a conventional Alaskan mill, so a 36" bar with 36" mill can only cut 29" - 30" wide.

In the short run, sounds like a 36" Alaskan with your 36" bar would do the job nicely.

But, if you see bigger trees in your future, plan accordingly. You can always run a 48" mill with a 36" bar, it's just that some of the mill frame will stick out and be a bit of a nuisance.

Not sure if your 084 needs an aux oiler with a 36" bar ? An 066 benefits from an aux oiler, but an 084 may pump enough oil. In any event, you can always add an aux oiler later if you feel the need.

You'll need some sort of guide board. You'll see all kinds of guides being used on this forum. A 2x12, unistrut, ladders, I-joists, etc.. If you already have something suitable laying around, by all means use it, even if it is not perfect. You can always upgrade later.