Trust your opinions on saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

458_lott

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I would like the opportunity to have some feedback on a potential saw purchase. I am new to this site, but not new to chainsaws and commercial cutting. I have been cutting for about 35 years. Currently, I am just cutting wood for my consumption and do some tree removal for profit should it not be too difficult. I run a relatively new Echo CS-670, an Echo CS-300, a Homelite Super Wiz 66 with a bow, a Poulan 3700 with a bow, a Homelite XL-12, a Homelite Super Mini VI, a Homelite XL-123 and a Homelite Super XL-925 (currently a project saw). When I used to cut commercially, I used Homelites exclusively (Super XL-925s for felling, XL-12s for limbing, and Super Wiz 66 gear drives for bucking-up). My question has to do with Stihl. While I have never owned a Stihl, I have been around them in the woods for many years. I have also run them. I would like to add another saw to the stable. Certainly not needed. Only wanted! I spoke to our Stihl dealer who used to sell me Homelites many moons ago and asked for a price on the MS-361, the MS-440 and the MS-460. The saw I am most familiar with is the MS-440 as I used to know it as the 044 I think. Anyway, should I go with the MS-440 or spend the extra $80.00 and get the MS-460. Either would wear a 24" bar maximum and be responsible for felling and limbing. I use a bow bar to buck everything up. It saves my back and I never need to worry about bar pinch. I think I may have eliminated the MS-361 myself unless you guys think that should be a consideration. I don't mind the weight of the saw. I just want it to be ergodynamically designed so that it is handy when felling and limbing. Also, should I invest in wrap-around handlebars? They were always nice on the Homelites as long as I didn't need to cut the trunk flush to