Thinking about MS 400. Is my 462 a keeper?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave Null

Reaction score
Hello everyone, longtime reader, first time poster.

I’m not a tree professional, just a landowner who enjoys running saws to help myself and others. I appreciate high quality tools and am at a point in life where I can afford them even if they don’t always pay for themselves.

I grew up on heavily wooded acreage, running saws from a young age, but as an adult went many years without owning one. The first chainsaw I purchased with my own money was a Stihl MS 362 CM, purchased new in 2016 after doing a lot of research on this site. It was my “one chainsaw plan” and fulfilled that role admirably until 2020, when I added a 261 CM and 462 CM to the stable.

I do a mix of felling, bucking, limbing, and storm cleanup, mostly hardwoods. I rarely need more than a 24” bar. I don’t climb (but sometimes wish I did).

I love my 462, but don’t use it quite as much as I thought I would. The 261 punches above its weight, so it gets used more than I thought it would. And because I had a family neighbor in need of a good saw, I gave them my 362.

Now I find myself with a “two saw plan” comprising a 261 (18” .325) and 462 (24” & 28” 3/8 lightweights). However, I miss having an intermediate saw, and the MS 400 has caught my eye. If I bought one, I’d plan to run it with a 20” lightweight bar. Then, I’d probably acquire a full wrap handle for my 462 to further differentiate it from the 400. I don’t need the 400, but something about three saws feels better than two.