Very close call felling a big doug. fir - whacked my arm but could have been much worse!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davefr

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
First of all I'm no pro when it comes to felling. My task was felling a big doug. fir about 25-30" in diameter. It had to go in one direction to avoid a snag.

I made my notch cut just fine and then proceeded with the back cut. I got lazy and thought I could make the back cut with a 16" bar by alternating both sides so the cut would meet in the middle. The fell did not go as planned and the tree came down about 90 -120 degrees from it's intended fall. It whacked my arm real good and I thought it was going to crush me.

I inspected the cut after the fell and discovered the holding wood was very inconsistent, Nearly none on half the cut.

Lesson learned: always use a bar longer then the diameter of the tree for the back cut so you can make a nice straight line and monitor the progress of both ends of the backcut as it approaches the notch. Maybe the pros can skillfully do a consistent backcut with a short bar but I can't. It was lazyness and stupidity on my part and I got real lucky.

Unless your a skilled faller that uses a three ft bar through a reg work day then its not considerd exceptable work practises.

You got more things to learn than that. Like compression/tention.
Highside/ lowside
You fell it from the wrong side of the tree it appears But if that was the safest side (example: unstable limb or tree on the high side)
It was behond your expierence level. If you are falling from the compression side (usually low side) and chase your undercut on the high side then you come strait through with the back cut where your feet are planted the tree will hit you again no doubt.