Want to walk me through a piston replacement?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sneezer

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've never done one before although it seems simple enough. Could use a little help anyway. I've
wandered through the site and found a lot of good info. Probably missed some though.

I've got a Husky 162SE built in 1981 and have had it since it was new. Have done some small
parts replacement over the years but this one is a surprise and a bigger challenge.

I like the saw and want to keep it. At my age (75) I really don't want a new one. Besides, with
a little TLC this one could go into my estate in, say, another 25 years.

The saw has run fine until a few days ago, then it began to balk if I had to stop and restart.
Got it running one time and it blew out a high-velocity stream of light gray smoke. Should
have stopped then but didn't. I made a cut through a 20" red oak and all seemed fine. No
apparent loss of power. Afterwards I noticed the top-end housing was melted next to the
muffler and then the saw wouldn't start. I took off the muffler and looked inside. There
appeared to be a flaw in the top rim of the piston and a streak of oil below it. By the way,
everything still moved smoothly and no sign of seizing up. Took the muffler off and looked
inside where there appeared to be some kind of flaw in the top rim of the piston, inside
the exhaust port. So, I pulled the cylinder to see more and found that a small chip, about
1/8" wide had been taken out of the lip of the piston with a gouge about 3/4" long
below it (probably the stroke length). Inside the cylinder, everything is smooth with,
at most a few streaks of discoloration, except that in the top edge of the exhaust port there
is a tiny dimple. I can see it only by some light off it and can barely find it with a fingernail.
Everything else looks and feels bright and smooth.