Waste motor oil as bar oil

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am a professional logger, been hand cutting for 20+ years. I started running drain oil when the prices skyrocketed about 16 years ago. Use about 2-3 gallons per week. As long as you strain it, it works just fine. I've had the same bar on since it was new 3 months ago. I also clean out my oil tank every month or 2. Imo if you keep everything clean, using drain oil is a great cost savings

I'am absolutely fine Nate , you asked what OHSA . would indicate as a threshold for permissible mineral oil concentrations . I provided it . However used crankcase oil is another matter . The concentrations of hazardous chemicals & agents are four to five times that of clean unused mineral oil that your permissible limits indicate . There are as much as 140 potential poly aromatic hydro carbons within used motor oils . Even more if leaded gas is utilized within the doaner engines that your oil is collected from . I find it rediculas that people will expose themselves to such potential health hazards to save $7-$10 bucks for a gallon of proper bar oil , that is more effective within bar & chain protection & also provides better operator & environment protection . Its your choice brother !
Screw OHSA, just another nanny state overlord. Do you run around in a biohazard suit afraid the sky will fall on you?

Pretty sure thats what I just said. When you can go all day on a handful of batteries we won't have to worry about exhaust fumes. No one in their right mind would take cases of batteries with them.