Well... did some sharpening

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrew W.

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Let me just start off by saying I am by no means the best at sharpening, however I am getting better ;) check it out, the top half is before and the bottom half is after.IMG_20170103_084744_435.jpg

This is my Demonstration of file depth under the top of the cutter. It allows for a better bite and a less immediate deflection out of the kerf which will also make for better chip size, as opposed to having those real narrow but kind of long chips that is not as efficient, this is just my experience.
Tell me what you all think?

"Update" my concern with this cutter was it's ability to keep an edge, I just became a cookie monster on this poor little round of pin oak from across the way. Its not too impressive at all... kinda bummed :/

I'm no pro when when it comes to sharpening but that looks pretty darn sharp to me.
Thank you. cuts great it's a little aggressive in the height of the rakers but that's okay it's not a chatter fest to run.

I'd keep an eye on longevity, that much hook might make for a sharp chain but it might not last as long between sharpening. If that works for you then continue on.
I've been cutting a lot of softwood lately, the hardest wood I've been into is dead ash :)

Let me just start off by saying I am by no means the best at sharpening, however I am getting better ;) check it out, the top half is before and the bottom half is after.View attachment 547957

This is my Demonstration of file depth under the top of the cutter. It allows for a better bite and a less immediate deflection out of the kerf which will also make for better chip size, as opposed to having those real narrow but kind of long chips that is not as efficient, this is just my experience.
Tell me what you all think?