Wet wood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joshlaugh

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
This is my first year burning wood in my house. I grew up splitting and burning wood at my parents but couldn't afford the stove till now for me.
I had split a little over 2 cord for this year and just ran out. I called a local guy who sold me 2 tons of wood for $120 plus delivery. The problem... The wood is really wet. Any ideas to help it dry? How long should it take to dry out if I have to keep it covered? Am I screwed here?

Josh

Is it wet? Or is it green?

Big difference in my opinion. If it is seasoned but weather soaked. It will re season pretty quick. Only tarp it when it is going to rain or snow on it. Otherwise let the sun and wind hit it. The freeze thaw cycles will even help dry it out.

Let nature do it's thing ...

The problem... The wood is really wet. Any ideas to help it dry? How long should it take to dry out if I have to keep it covered? Am I screwed here?
Josh

First Welcome to the AS Forum, like ericjeeper said if its not raining try to not cover it, the wind and air will really dry it quick. I burn my wood in an outdoor stove, but wood on my pile seems to dry 3 - 4 days after the rain, when we have windy, sunny days. I think this could depend on many things, is it dry seasoned wood to begin with, or green wood with alot of bark? Either way your really not screwed, just might have to apply some patience, which is not helping you with your immediate need I am sure.

I had a chord wet wood to deal with this year.

Not Green, just wet. The outer layer of some of the wood really soaked up the rain and the PNW Sun isn't up to the job of drying it out. :chainsaw:

What worked for me is setting the wood around the stove to dry out. In one evening I can dry out several more days worth of wood.