what chainsaw to buy?? newbie!!! also help on passing course!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

parr

Reaction score
Hi guys i want to get into tree surgery and climbing, firstly im very new to all this, i quickly decided to go on a cs30/31 course and borrowed a stihl ms250, this saw i found ok to use.
Firstly i got to pass my course where i ????ed up as i didnt revise and dint know all questions about the bar!
Anyway i want to purachase a saw do you think this one is ok.
How do you tree surgeons get into your job??, i hear you need to do a few NPTC courses, it will take me time to get there but im determined! If any of you can give me advice or know good links about the stuff i need to know id appreciate it. Give me all u got !!:chainsaw:

saws

Welcome to the Arb world its ace!!! (most of the time)

personally i started with a stihl 023 now ms230
cheap n cheerful can use 12-14" bar, you should get a couple of years out of it
then i got a second hand stihl o39 now ms039 upto 20"ish bar it died after 18mths
the secret is not to spend what you have'nt got
and dont buy what you havent got a lot of use for
if you get a job and need specific kit then take the cost for it out of that job Debt is the killer in this game, it can be very cut throat usually Price wins with the private customer
if you need too pm me

all the best

iain

iain said:
Debt is the killer in this game,

Good advice! Debt is a killer in ANY game. WHen our current economic house of cards comes crashing down (which it will), a lot of people will figure that out.

A lot more will blame something else.

might help

I notice you are in kent, for training try kingswood training services, owners name is richard olley, did my nptc training with him and passed 30,31,38 and 39 no probs. I'm new to the game and would recommend it. good luck

treeminator said: