What kind of shop

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wolfking42084

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I am getting ready to build a shop in the next couple of months for my business. I have been using my old mans barn for storage for the past several years and i'm wanting something bigger and nicer. What do you guys have to work out of. I was thinking something with tin roofing and siding, maybe 30'x60' with 3 bay doors? Anyone have any pictures of their work area? thanks

24 x 48 shop.....not big enough....keep tractor, stump grinder and gator in it plus saws, ropes

has running water, heat, refrig and ice machine but no toilet....put a toilet in for you help...trust me

16 x 20 storage shed

12 x 16 office

Mine is a 30x60 typical post frame building. It is divided into two sections. shop is 24x30 and has a single 8x7 garage door. It is insulated and has a two barrel wood stove. The 36x30 side is not insulated and is used for storage, boat, lawn equip. It has a normal 2 car garage door. It has 9 ft ceilings.

Things that I would do differently now that I have lived with it for seven years:

Go with 10 foot sidewalls

My tractor barely fits. I actually have to throttle down so the little flapper on the exhaust doesn't get stuck on the door.:dizzy:

When you have regular garage doors you have a header which robs door open height. I could have had a taller door with the 10 foot instead of 9 foot. Also, when I had a slide in camper I couldn't back into the shed with the camper on, so it had to stay outside.

Insulate the whole thing

It would have cost less than $1000 more to do the whole thing. The insulation is sandwiched between the tin and the girts. You can insulate after the fact but it is a pain and doesn't go in neatly. This is assuming you are doing a pole shed. It is also more expensive to do after the fact.

Concrete the whole thing right away