Whats in your wood pile?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wood Scrounge

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I get my wood from many different sources in varying quantities this leads to having a wide variety of species. As I was inspecting my piles I began to notice all the different type of wood I had, and was surprised when I counted 17 different types, here they are in order by what I have the most of to the least:

Sugar Maple
American Beech
White Ash
Cherry
Norway maple
Apple
Shag bark hickory
Black walnut
Black birch
Black locust
Mulberry
Red Oak
White pine
White Oak
Silver maple
Pig nut hickory
Dogwood

I enjoy getting a species I have never used before and seeing how it performs. This is my first year with American Beech and I love the stuff, I got ½ a pickup load of Dogwood and have to say it is a lousy wood.

What’s in your wood pile? And are you burning anything this year you have never used before?

And are you burning anything this year you have never used before?

Willow and lots of it. Wood is wood though for the most part and it allows me to get the house warmed up quick in the morning or evening before a full loading of other wood.

Currently I am using-

Willow
Black Walnut
Maple - thinking silver
Red Oak
Cherry
Elm
Sasafrass
Poplar
Ash
Apple

Ash
Box Elder (I have been told)
Cherry
Crabapple
Maple
Red Oak
White Oak

I enjoy thinking back to where and when I scored the wood, maybe what saw(s) I used, etc. I usually burn about two cords a year as a casual / fireplace burner, so it is not difficult for me to remember the woods history. For those who burn considerably more I would think that is a bit more challenging -- especially when it gets mixed together next to the stove / burner.

My pile consists of:
texas red oak
live oak
post oak
cedar (juniper)
pecan
mesquite
silver maple
yew
cedar elm
american elm
green ash