which owb to buy

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dogdrvr

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am looking to buy an outdoor burner have to pick between two. The taylor or central boiler. Any feed back? The second qyuestion. I understand that you have to keep the furnace fired. If i was planning on a vacation in the winter, Would the heat transfer from my oil furnace to the radiator be enough with the circulating pump running to keep the owb from freezing?
Also looking at the literature of the central boiler , i noticed that on line running from the owb to the house heats the domestic hot water and the forced air unit, Am i seein this correct?
Any comments or help out there?
Mark In west Pa.............:givebeer:

I have a woodmaster and the CB and Taylor were 2nd and 3rd choice. Both seem like excellent units. Final decision was btw WM and CB and WM won out b/c of the dealer.
You can also add antifreeze to the water to prevent winter freeze up when system down. I added the glycol for expensive yet extra insurance for winter get aways where the stove would be down.
Hope you enjoy cutting wood!

I have had a CB 4030 installed and fired since Jul 07. I have the carbon steel model and have not had any problems. I do the routine maintenance as outlined in the manual, ie scraping creosote, stirring the ashes, lube the solenoid etc. I don't know that CB is the best, but it does seem well made to me. Mine is natural draft and I get good burns. Due to the flue being positioned in the back of the furnace, the air flow is forced over the entire load of wood which results in a good hot fire.

The supply line can, and in my opinion, should be hooked up to the DHW along with HX for the forced air or whatever you have. Why not take advantage of basically free hot water? (CB does not have a monopoly on this idea)