Wifey is giving me a chainsaw for Christmas!!!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pbuehning

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Wifey is giving me a chainsaw for Christmas!!!! I've been cutting for 3 1/2 years now (on weekends), doing forestry management for my sports club. We've got 47 acres that have to be thinned, cleaned and maintained. Most of what I cut is 20" dbh or less. I drop, limb and buck the trees, another couple of guys move and split it; sell for firewood. A couple times a year I have to deal with larger stuff, but I can get it done with the 20", but its slow and I know the 290 is working real hard. Anything real big we hire a pro to put it on the ground and then I buck it.

My go to saw is a 290 with a 16" bar and a 20" for larger stuff. I have 2 old Super XLAO's and some small old poulans(for limbing). The 290 runs great, but I want MORE!!! I am committed to Stihl, 2 good local dealers and the Husky dealer is too far away (and pricey).

Here's the question or what my plan is. I'll ask wifey to get me a MS361 and outfit it with a 16", 20" and a 25" bar and the appropriate chains (skip for the large bar) and ebay the 290 and most of the other saws. This should get me the $ to get a 260 for a small saw (maybe a 250-cause its that much cheaper). I really don't like working with a top handle so the 200T is out, but have considered the 200 rear handle as my small saw.

As much as I'd like a 440 or 460 I really wouldn't use (need) it that often and thats allot of money to have sitting around, and yes at 14-15 lbs it does get heavy for a weekend user.