Will Cutting Up The Roots Harm The Tree?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnoberg

Reaction score
I live in a "manufactured home park" (trailer park) in southeast Michigan. We have a pretty large maple tree (unsure of the exact kind--I'm no expert) in our yard and a portion of the roots have become exposed above ground. I would say a portion of the roots about 3 inches wide by 12 inches long by 5 inches tall have been exposed directly under the skirting of our neighbor's trailer. This is causing the skirting to be lifted by 4-5 inches.

This seems to bother him (although, personally, I see no harm in this) to the point where he wants to take some kind of sharp-edged tool and cut it up so it isn't affecting his skirting.

Unsure of how we can prevent him from doing this, I would like to know if this will cause much harm to the tree. Perhaps he'll listen if I can relay some useful information to him.

I have searched the forums and found similar posts but not quite like this. If you could please help out ASAP, it would be great because the neighbor plans on doing this in the next few days.

Thanks

John
[email protected]
(586) 222-5422 (if you find it necessary to contact me immediately regarding this)

Last edited:
Over time, it will very likely kill the tree. The bigger it is, the more likely it is to be badly damaged. Cuts interfere with the trees' ability to manufacture food and store it in the leaves. A large surface would like that may eventually heal, but in the interim, it will be a vector for disease, bacteria and/or fungus.

Yes, the larger canopy on a large tree is capable of more photosynthesis, but the balance of root and canopy will be disrupted/damaged by this chopping of roots. Also, if roots grow aboveground, the tree has reasons for doing this (like, oxygenation in damp soil).

This is not good.