Climbing Line

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Froggy

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've climbed on many different climbing lines at work, but now it's time for me to invest in my own. I've got some lines in mind. If it wouldn't be a bother. Could some of you all let me know what you climb on and how it worked for you. Thanks BB

I've been using Safety Blue for about 5 years. Soft feel, the second-strongest climbing rope on the market (7,700 lbs) and it's about the least expensive rope you can buy. The high load rating is good for me because I downgrade my lifeline to a handline when my old handline wears out. This way I'm always climbing on the newest rope. Plain white with blue core. Virtually no milking.

My next rope is going to be the Blue Streak. 8,100 lb rating, has a stiffer feel- reminds me of the old Arbor Plex, but not as bad. When I tried a new line Saturday it didn't seem to snag with ascenders as easily as the Safety Blue. A little more money, but will make it easier identifying my lifeline from the handline. Blue and White striped. I've heard this rope needs no milking.

Pro-Stripe is a Sherrill color Bleu-Streak, Same as Hi Vee. Slightly less Tensil due to dey degredation of the fibers. I clime on this.

Got some XTC too, good rope.

SRT is Blue Water static-line.

froggy,
i just picked up a 120' chunk of blue streak from
sherrill. i decided to spend a little extra $ and buy
the strongest line available. i'll let you know how it
works out for me.....so far, so good.
budroe:cool:

I climbed on Arborplex long ago and liked it. Safety blue was even better-stronger with a better 'hand'. Now I'm climbing on Yellow Jacket. Great hand and I like the distinctive color.