couple of newbie questions about a Stihl Ms 261 chainsaw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
261 will get stronger yet

Just wait till you get a dozen tanks thru it and when you get two dozen thru it then you'll know what that saw really has

Then when you mod the muffler (MM) it will get even stronger :msp_wink:

Have you tuned a saw before

[video=youtube;5BZkB9QQTJU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5BZkB9QQTJU[/video]

Thanks on all the tips guys. What's the reason behind semi-chisel for dirty conditions?

On the carb adustment, the dealer didn't mention anything about that. The saw sounds okay to me but I'm no expert. I guess I should get it checked out, but annoying that the dealer didn't mention it. I thought one of the points of buying a Stihl was having a good dealer close by.

I must say I had a hard time keeping the revs down on the first three tanks of gas (break-in). The saw is just raring to go, and before I knew it I had it totally opened up. :D Can't imagine that's too much of a risk, but if the carb wasn't set right.... hmmm.

Always run the saw wide open in the cut. If you are cutting wood have the trigger pinned b***s to the wall. And dont run it wide open free spinning. The engine is designed to run wide open under load its where the air/fuel mixture is set for best performance and lubrication of the internals. As far as free spinning goes you wouldn't run your car engine wide open in park would you ?