Creosote build up on chimney cap help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mustang71

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I have an englander epa wood furnace. I have no issues with creosote in my chimney. I clean it every year and get very little out but the cap gets really bad. It's like when hot hits cold air it condenses. I could clean the cap once a month. Is this normal? I've been burning wood for 8 years and I always get worried about the cap lighting off. Occasionally you will see an ember glowing on a windy night in the cap. Do I need a high wind cap or something to block the wind?

There are different styles.
Some have screens and some don't.
We have two stoves and one of each.
The screen does build up, and requires about once a month cleaning early on with intermittent burning, and same transitioning in the spring. Pretty normal.
The one without has more above roof exposure. It also builds up but is less visible from the ground.
This one requires removing a section of pipe to access.
All normal maintenance.
If you have embers reaching the cap I would keep the screen in place.
If the roof is bare or has a good snow pack maintenance is no issue.

When I bought the house the cap on it was a round one with a screen with really small holes that plugged up right away with my old daka wood furnace. I ripped it off took a stainless steel cap from work that came off a 8x8 clay tile and welded it to the base of the old cap so it would lock onto the triple wall chimney. So it's the same cap as a masonry fire place basically.

There are different styles.
Some have screens and some don't.
We have two stoves and one of each.
The screen does build up, and requires about once a month cleaning early on with intermittent burning, and same transitioning in the spring. Pretty normal.