Game of Logging hostility?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ru55ell

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi: I'm new to AS

I sense that there is hostility towards GOL, Why?

I don't think loggers want to hear how to cut trees from people that don't make their living logging. Bore cutting is a hot issue, it's great when you need it, but boring every tree takes longer and is harder on equipment. So anybody going around pushing bore cutting isn't going to be received well.

The one thing I've noticed that I don't like is they never seem to teach much about looking up.

You have to look at the top of the tree to see what is going on and to see any hazards you may have missed during size up or to watch hazards that have been noted.

I don't think loggers want to hear how to cut trees from people that don't make their living logging.

Well said its more than the theory about the technique its also the time on stump that imprints if, when and where it will or will not or should not be used. Don't get me wrong I am all for learning new techniques it just the techniques that were taught to me were from fallers that spent their lives falling trees. GOL techniques are not new I have a old book (Loggers World the First 10 yrs 1964-1974) that discusses using the side boring backcut back in mid 60's so the old timers knew about this long before Soren started up GOL the differece is they used it when it was needed not on every tree.

Last edited:
it's ben hammerd out plenty before. i just don't like any one telling me to do something one way , there are so many variables to falling ,. i myself take info think about it , if it works itgoes in the book, if not in the can. just don't like people trying to save me from myself.

they never seem to teach much about looking up.