Moving from NH to Lake County, Ca

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

New Hampster

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello ya'll.
I'm new to this site, so greetings.
I am moving from New Hampshire to Lake County, Ca. in the spring and am looking for a single all around work horse of a saw.
I have never cut trees professionally, although I have worked a couple years in falling and
skidding out trees for my ex-gf's father using an Stihl 048 and a Husky 61. I also have a few hundred cords of wood cut and split under my belt. I do not own a professional grade saw, as all saws I've ever used have been someone else's. I am a master carpenter with 17+ years experience in all facets of carpentry and 5 years of machining/welding. I'm no stranger to hard work. I am also a combat veteran, so living in a tent long term is nothing new to me. I will be rolling out in the spring with a 15K generator, welding equipment, a 12X15 4 season wall tent, all my tools, a Springfield 30.06, chain-falls, come alongs, axes/mauls...etc. all loaded onto my Ford F250 7.3L turbo diesel.
I need to kick down for a pro quality saw that I will be using daily for falling and bucking on 40 acres (which also abuts a 1,680 acre forest). I understand trees are slightly bigger out west than on the each coast. :) So, I have been thinking that a Husky 372XP or a Stihl 044/ms440 w/ a 24" bar will be a sufficient all around saw. Considering I will not be skidding logs out, my plan will be falling, limbing, bucking in place and then hand rolling the rounds to the access road for pick up, so I probably won't be taking anything bigger than 30". I'd like to meet some people out that way that I can rely on for accurate information and strategy as well as gaining any helpful tips. Thanks for taking the time to read. All input is welcome.