MS250 or 270?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Old Geezer

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I live on a small acreage with a lot of mature trees. I don't cut firewood but occasionally I need to trim or remove a tree. I've been using a 16" Poulan for the last ten years and it's time to replace the old girl. I've narrowed my search down to the MS250 and 270. I believe either of these saws would be a huge step up from the saw I'm using now. Does anyone have any experience with either of these saws and which would be a better buy? I'll probably opt for a 18" bar. I've decided my next saw will be a Stihl because I have a really good dealer near by. Thanks

You can't find a more user friendly saw for a homeowner than the MS270. Get the model with the pop out chain tensioner, you will find its a Cadillac compared to your old saw.:cheers:

270 or 280 both are great working saws.:cheers:
Yup, as a 'yet to be disappointed' MS270 owner I can truly attest to its quality, (search 'MS270 does its duties' thread for my take on them). Though I haven't used the CM (?) model with the quick chain adjuster I have heard good things (Gas) too, I'd just rather have the option of tightening my own nuts an' bolts, so ta speak. Very well built, excellent 'feel' (and I am fairly large person), and has great speed and ability. Mine has the 'decomp' which is a nice touch but I rarely have used it as it not an ogre to start without it.
As I have stated elsewhere I am not overly fond of the wimpy dawgs and intend to add another set to the clutch housing as there is a place to mount them. Over-all I think you'd be very happy with one of any of the above mentioned picks. My evening take on things :)

:cheers:

Serge