My Husky dealer says no to the 576XP

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BuddhaKat

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I went into my local Husky dealer to get some info on the 576XP and his advice was "Don't buy it." He said the new air charge system will make the motor run hot if it gets out of adjustment because it will lean out the motor. Well a lean mix will create heat, but I'm a bit skeptical about his blanket claim. As a mechanical engineer, I have to believe Husky tested the hell out of this thing before releasing it to production. Of course, there's no guaranty of that, but their R&D is well funded. I can see that it might be difficult balancing chainsaw performance against the EPA requirements, but the basics are the basics. HP:Weight. Can anyone tell me about this Auto-Tune carb? Would that catch the lean out before it became a problem?

I'm really torn as to which saw to buy. I'm going from a Poulan 2450 with a 16" bar to a pro class saw with a 28". I'm going to be felling pine up to 24" and some oak. My inclination is to go with the 576XP or the Stihl 361. Honestly, I liked the weight distribution of the Husky 575 better than the Stihl, but I haven't picked up a 576 yet. I'm not so fearful of the 576 being new technology, but ya never know. I almost ordered a 576XP/28" off of eBay on Sunday. It was a pre-order price with a 10% discount, plus I had a 10% coupon from eBay. My total cost, including shipping would have been a touch over $700, including shipping. But She That Must Be Obeyed said no. Damn, I wish I could remember where I left my stones at. :dizzy:

I am always cautious of anything new! best to buy in the second or third year as the bug's will be worked out. But cant help but wonder if the 576 is the 575 with all the bugs worked out?