Need new saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kent0242

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm a newbie here.

I have a McCulloch PM 610 that I bought new in the early 90's. It's been a real workhorse thru the years, but recently the clutch came loose.

I'd like to repair this saw, but I also would like to find a comparable replacement. I don't know the specs on it, but my guess is that it was a 61cc. It originally came with a 24" bar, but I finally switched to a 22" when I couldn't find 24's anymore.

I am not afraid of a good used saw, but also realize that technology has made strides over the years.

If I replace it with new, I'd like to stay below $300, used - below $200.

I have read a little about Jonsereds and am not sure that they are turbocharged or not. According to charts on the web, cc for cc, they are about equal in HP as other Huskys and Stihls.

Thanx in advance for any assistance you can provide.

well i kow somebody who has an 036 thats heck of a good saw used..
its 61 cc and a real good saw at that size.. plus if u get him to power port it ,
it would be even better.. contact dan henry..i dont have the slightest idea what he would want for it..

It will be mighty hard to get a new 60cc saw for $300, at least one worth spending money on.

You can however get a nice new saw in that price range.

What are you going to use it for? What did you like about the McCulloch and what didn't you like?

*edit --Jonsered saws are basically red Huskies though they don't sell all the Husky models, I would probably get the Husqvarna unless the Jonsered was a good deal.

Last edited:
I have been using the saw for cutting firewood.

I dropped some oak trees in my neighbor's yard over the years and then cut them to suitable sized rounds for hand-splitting.