Picking a New Chainsaw (stihl obviously)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ELITER

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
OK so I have been cutting firewood for around 15 years, I always used my fathers old 041 AV that he bought new in '77 and hasn't ever had to open up. That saw is a real go getter and has cut 100's of cords for us.

Anyway, I needed my own saw and I bought a lot smaller saw a few years back a husky 44 that I have had nothing but trouble with and want to ditch (runs strong, now it needs a drive sprocket). I am looking at getting a bigger saw at least in the 041av range and possibly with the ability to mount a Alaskan CSM to later.

I am mostly bucking logs (18"-36") into firewood and want a 24" bar with a power head that can push a 24" bar through a 30" oak tree without any qualms. I Know that the 041 will do this with a sharp chain. What newer saws are comparable?? I have been looking at MS 440's and MS 441's, and then reading information where many recomend a MS 361 for firewood.

I also would like to be able to push it through a decent sized log with a CSM and have a good cut. but this is 2nd to weight and firewood.

How do the following compare:
Stihl 041 AV (Super/rancher/farm boss/ etc)
Stihl 034 super AV
Stihl 044 magnum
Stihl MS 361
Stihl MS 440
Stihl MS 441

The factors of importance are, HP, displacement, WEIGHT, reliability, and of course personal experiences.

Most of the firewood will be hardwoods but I will cut some softwoods also, here in the PNW we have some big fast growing trees...

Thanks for all of your help, also what price range can I expect for the different models of saws?
Thanks!!

Last edited: