Traditional climbing system : 1st Time on one

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MISteve

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Rookie climber, need advice. I have been climbing with spikes and flipline for about 6 months. Been in about 10 trees doing removals. Pretty frustrated with movement in the tree with flipline and lanyard. Going up, not too bad. Going down is a lot harder than I had expected it to be. I have been practicing what Jepson's book calls a traditional climbing system. Been using it in my back yard at about 10 feet, practicing for about a week. Today I topped a beach tree. I was using my flipline and a new lanyard I built. It is about 18' long, gives me more capability in the tree. I leave it in a crotch and it is backup as I spike back down the tree. When I got to the end and I went to bring the lanyard down to reset it, dang thing got hung up in the crotch. Could not free it. Did not want to go back up. No better time to try the new system, so I pulled up my rope and tied the rig. Hung on it for a bit to make sure it was set, than released the flip line. Had to really think about that for a bit. Anyway, I am about 35' up at this time, but I lowered myself down in about a minute. Much easier than spikes coming down.
Please look at the pics and tell me if this is ok or can be better. Does the length of the bridge matter?

traditional climbing rig :: 100_0542.jpg picture by sgilbert9226 - Photobucket

traditional climbing rig :: 100_0541.jpg picture by sgilbert9226 - Photobucket

traditional climbing rig :: 100_0540.jpg picture by sgilbert9226 - Photobucket

Knots look OK. I like to have about a 6" bridge on a traditional rig to keep my knot close at hand.