Why Can't We Grow Trees Like Carrots & Potatoes?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Amen to that. Are you in WV? I don't see how that mining practice is illegal. Removing a MOUNTAIN should be against the law. There are better ways to get at the coal.

Just catchin' up to you. I've been working in coal country timber for nearly the last 2 years, not clearing for strip mining, but the peripheral timber. We've helicopter logged, jammer logged, yarders, you name it, and by and large practiced real silviculture, all on land that may well be under a valley fill in a few years.

Its been fascinating. It is a complex issue, and as with timber, there is more to it than one's emotional response. Do I like it, no, but I can't tell you I know just where to draw the line.

Often the last 20 min. of my drive would be across MTR terrain.

I wish more than anything the beautification committee would make a stop in the coal fields, its rough country and most of those communities could use a real pick me up.

I done tramped myself today, on to a new gig in a new region so no more coal fields.

MTR:

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

Last edited:
I would much rather see clearcuts in my area. Looks better then a mountain with its top sliced off.

I got to clear cut about 120 acres of prime red & white oak that was being eaten by gypsy moths out there on Potts Mtn. west of Salem VA. I really wanna go back there to see how things are progressing. Im sure you can barely walk for all the sprouts coming up.

More MTR (mountain top removal)

Before:
attachment.php

Valley Fill: (it will be vegetated w/ grass)
attachment.php

Is the MTR for mining? As in actually taking the top of the mountain off?