Homelite XL - Worth the time?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kevoo_11

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I just joined, and I already understand how ubiquitous conversation of these little Homelites is, so I apologize. That said, I can get my hands on a homelite xl for about $10-20 that is supposed to be functional EXCEPT the bulb on the fuel cap is split. I've done some research on this wonderful site and I guess replacing the bulb is pretty easy and straight forward. I typically try to make old things work again, but I'm just wondering if you guys think it's at all worth it to even mess with.

I am no expert, and I have never had an XL (but I sure would like to find a cheap XL2), but personally, for just $10, I'd jump on that! Even if it is total melted garbage, I've thrown away more money than that on a bad hamburger. And if you can actually pull the exhaust to look at the piston and feel it turn over before you buy - so much the better.

Kevoo 11
Welcome
Years ago around my area almost any one that cut a little wood had one. I have had several gave to me over the years that had set and wouldn't run I repaired them and resold them. Good little saw if it looks good and good compression and your handy you can't go wrong for 10 bucks. Got a buddy that still runs one he bought new.

Thanks guys....I'm glad you all took the time to respond. I'd like to think I'm handy, but unless it's a Jeep I haven't had much experience. I feel ashamed that I'm an arborist without a saw, so I can dicker with this until it runs.

Yeah, the XL2 is virtually the identical saw as my Super-2, which I love (just with a slightly smaller engine) - that is why I would like to find one with a short bar for a good price. It is really an outstanding saw for the light work, and it ain't got no stinkin' plastic!