Husky 55 problem

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nails

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Noob here ... but I've lurked over the years. Lots of great knowledge here.

I have a Husky 55 that I bought new in '97. It's closed port -- don't actually know what that means, but I see the +++++. It's had a steady diet of nasty weedy pinon/juniper, more than 100 cords and mountains of slash. For parts, all I've ever done is replace chains, plus one sparkplug and one bar. A swell saw -- didn't need to register here before now.

Lately, it runs funky about half-way through the first tank, as if the jetting was suddenly way off. This seems to happen only if I take a 10-min or more break. Then it's really hard to start and doesn't run right for the rest of the day. It doesn't seem hot. These things don't help: screwing with the jets, filling the tank, fresh mix.

It starts and runs great the next day. I just got 90psi cold for compression. I replaced the fuel filter; and the air filter is clean. Air can circulate around the cylinder fins. The carb is clean, seems to work right, and I blew out all the circuits.

Could this be some electronic something getting hot? Do I need to pull the head? Or check compression when not running right? Or try to find a rebuild kit for the carb?

--
Nails

90 psi is very low, I'm surprised it runs at all. If your compression tester is correct and it really is at 90psi it's time for a new ring at the least. You might want to pull the muffler and have a look at the piston. I don't know about the coil, it could be getting hot and not working right. The first thing I would check is the piston.