Piston Stop??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dogder

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm fairly new to chainsaw repair and still learning. Up to the other day I had no problems (that I know) using a metal piston stop. Then I tried to remove the clutch on a Stihl MS180 and put a hole in the piston. Now I'm wondering if I should stop using the metal piston stop. I've watched youtube videos where they use rope and I'll seen the Stihl tool in the shop manuals. Anyone have any comments??

Thanks

Its a little piece of plastic. Here is a link on Ebay for it Stihl Piston Stop

I buy my parts from a dealer who gave me one of these. Call the local Stihl dealer and see if they have one they'd sell you.

I stay away from the rope as I got a parts saw that the previous owner used the rope trip and guess where the rope ended up? Down the side of the cylinder. So I had to break down the cylinder to get the rope out and verify nothing else was in there.

Another vote for impact here. Not the 600lb/ft monster either. I have both 1/4 and 3/8 drive impacts. I will hold the flywheel with my hand while I use the impact on either the flywheel or PTO side. I've never had a problem.

A cheap impact is a good investment if you are going to work on saws. No rope needed to remove clutches.
If you must use a wrench, the use rope and only as much as is needed. It is less torque on the rod if the piston is near TDC.

A cheap impact is a good investment if you are going to work on saws. No rope needed to remove clutches.
If you must use a wrench, the use rope and only as much as is needed. It is less torque on the rod if the piston is near TDC.

How much is "too" much? Those rods are pretty weak anyway........