Get to the top!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MasterBlaster

TreeHouse Elder
Reaction score
Have ya ever noticed? Rookies doing trims or TD's never seem to tie in at a logical point? Instead of getting to the tippy-top and going from there they stop half-way, fumble around, and are less productive?

Your tie in point is most important when it involves how you move about in the tree. You have to think at least three moves ahead of what you're doing now, and follow through.

I could go on...

It's like I've said before. Climbing efficiently is like making a chess move, not checkers. Plan your climb, then climb yur plan...

Butt, don't be askeered to make changes on the fly! ;)

i am just learning the ropes..... :) anyways so what your saying is best way to do a removal is to get to the top, tie in, then descend to remove everything? i've seen my partner/trainer do it that way but he did take out some limbs on the way up

tinman44 said:
i am just learning the ropes..... :) anyways so what your saying is best way to do a removal is to get to the top, tie in, then descend to remove everything? i've seen my partner/trainer do it that way but he did take out some limbs on the way up

Just get to the top, and do what ya wanna as ya do it. It's all downhill after that...

way i figure get up to the top since its coming down too, remove limbs you can and make a control path down the when your getting the stump down you can drop branches then course i would be wearing gaffs so, question for you mb when your bringing down the logs, you tie in twice (i'm sure) you use your scare-strap/buckstrap/flipline whatever you call it, do you also tie in with a lifeline? and how do you create a false crotch? do you use the friction saver and prusik? or what?