026 lower exhaust port question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yo2001

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I notice that on 026 (I doubt it but could be just mine) the piston goes inset about 1.5mm lower than the lower part of exhaust port. Would that not be a place for an improvement? To me seems like it is a bad spot where end gas can trap and cause detonation problem when modded. On my 044, the piston stays above the bottom of the exhaust port. Any thought?

I'm still learning. So thanks for responding stupid question. If anyone can lead me to a good read that'll be great too. I have been looking through "2 stroke guide" some.

in general, the when the piston is all the way down, the exhaust port should be open all the way to the exhaust port.

however, it is REALLY bad if the exhaust port is open when the piston is all the way up. So, take the muffler off, run the piston to TDC, then mark the bottom of hte exhaust port on the side of the piston.

disassemble, and make sure there is plenty of room to lower the exhaust.

hope that helps,

If you ever plan to modify this saw the absolut last part you want to touch is the bottom of the exhaust port.

90% of the flow out of the exhaust port happens in the top 10% of the port, well not exactly but close. By the time the piston gets to BDC there should be almost zero flow out of the port and any flow that there is is often as much fresh charge as exhaust.

As doug pointed out it's bad news if the piston skirt clears the exhaust port floor, the 026 has a short piston and its not to hard to do that, esp if any modifications are made to improve compression.

One other point is the cylinder contact offered to the ring below the exhaust port helps cool the ring aiding in ring life.