.325 and .375

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canyon Angler

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
OK, I'm a newbie and I'm confused. Dumb question but here it is:

I have a MS-310 with 3/8" chain on 20" bar, .050" and 72 drive links.

OK, last I checked, 3/8 = .375

But then I see talk about 3/8" chains with .325" something or other.

.325 does not equal 3/8

Can someone explain what's up with all this for me?

Sorry for the dumb question and thanks for any replies.

Jeff

3/8 is 3/8, .325 is .325. There is no 3/8 version of .325.

.325 is usually reserved for the smaller displacement saws. Narrower kerf compared to 3/8. Although I use .325 on my 361, but thats only because I had a .325 bar for it already.

I think the 3/8" is a better chain if you have the ponies to pull it. A 310 is kinda borderline, either one would work, but you need a .325 bar and sprocket for it. As long as you are happy with the way it performs, just stay with the 3/8" chain. If you buy Stihl you'll be buying 33 series chain or Oregon 72 series. Good luck,
J.D.

Dumb Question

I was wondering...Some manufactures will say (or give you the option) to use .325 or 3/8 chain on the same saw? Is this possible, if you have a common size bar that is .050? Oregons website gives you the .325 or 3/8 option (for my Deere CS62). I would think the drive link spacing would be different, thus it wouldn't match up with the drive sprocket? I am using the .325 chain supplied and aftermarket .325 loops, but if possible, I'd like to use a little more agressive 3/8 chain as I know the saw will power it.

Can anyone shead a little light on this for me?

UrbanLogger said: