.325 narrow kerf on 50cc saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CGC4200

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Anybody running this setup?
I am constantly having to deal with dropped limbs and trees
on my small farm. Standard 3/8" is too bouncy for smaller limbs.
I put a 8 tooth .325 rim sprocket & 18" NK bar & chain on Makita DCS 520.
I like the chain speed, just wondering if it would hold up.
Saw is rated @ 3.2 hp, same as Husqvarna 55.

It is a very good set-up on the weaker (like sub 3.5hp) 50cc saws - but try a 7-pin rim unless you just use it to cut small limbs....:givebeer:

The only "problem" is that the NK only comes in semi-chisel, no chisel option....:censored:

Last edited:
I'm running the 20" NK from Bailey's on my 346NE and I like it a lot, good price, small kerf and the bar and chain is a good balance on the saw. I'm no expert, works well for me but I don't do cookies, it just works nice in the woods, saw is still light and nimble in the limbs.

If your bar is 20" it may be a good option also on that saw, but with a shorter (normal) bar the NK chain doesn't do that (strong) saw justice!

:givebeer:

Last edited:
It is a very good set-up on the weaker (like sub 3.5hp) 50cc saws - but try a 7-pin rim unless you just use it to cut small limbs....:givebeer:

The only "problem" is that the NK only comes in semi-chisel, no chisel option....:censored:

Niko THAT saw came factory with either 3/8"-7 or .325"-8 going backwards to a .325"-7 is not needed or recommended this saw is not a low torque husky....

Also stay away from that NK crap unless you feel the need to repair broken chains often..

Scott

real reason for question

I obtained a NK combo from Bailey's and got a 8 pin from Edge & Engine.
The NK chain seems to stretch quickly, maybe Scott is right.

I have a good running Husqvarna 55 & a Makita DCS 520,